2010 Isis and Goldie Crews Announced

Oxford and Cambridge Boat Clubs have today announced the crews for the 2010 Isis and Goldie boats to race on Saturday 3 April at 16:00, half an hour before The Xchanging Boat Race.

Isis are looking to avenge the hat-trick of victories Goldie accumulated between 2005 and 2007 with a hat-trick of their own for the first time since 1983, as well as reducing Goldie’s overall winning margin of 28-17.

A total of seven different nationalities are represented across the two boats. There are also seven British crew members, five of whom will be in the Goldie boat.

Hardy Cubasch, the powerful Australian rower, was unable to retain a seat in the Blue Boat this year and will row at 5 for Goldie. Two other Goldie crew members have participated in the event previously – Dutchman Wanne Kromdijk, a winner in 2007, and Joel Jennings (GB), a member of the boat that lost to Isis last year. The Goldie crew consists of four more Britons: George Lamb, Mike Thorp, Matt Whaley and cox Elizabeth Box, who has dual British and Australian nationality. German rower Moritz Schramm and Canadian Geoff Roth make up the remainder of the boat.

Like the Oxford Blue Boat, Isis will be looking to win their third consecutive race. The sole crew member who has tasted victory in this race is London-born Alec Dent, who rowed at 4 seat in the winning Isis boat in 2009. Alec is one of two British rowers in the boat, alongside fellow Londoner, Ben Snodin. The remainder of the crew consists of two Swiss rowers, Basil Gruter and Antoine De Weck; German Moritz Hafner; Boris Le Feber from Holland; and three Americans: Ed Newman, Billy Rueter and cox Jack Carlson.

2010 Isis and Goldie Crews

Bow Billy Rueter (Christ Church – USA)
2 Moritz Hafner (Kellogg – GER)
3 Antoine De Weck (New – SWI)
4 Ben Snodin (Exeter – GB)
5 Basil Gruter (Green Templeton – SWI)
6 Boris Le Feber (Jesus – NED)
7 Ed Newman (Brasenose – USA)
Stroke Alec Dent (Keble – GB/FR)
Cox Jack Carlson (Brasenose – USA)

Bow Wanne Kromdijk (Clare – NED)
2 George Lamb (St John’s – GB)
3 Mike Thorp (Homerton – GB)
4 Matt Whaley (Gonville & Caius – GB)
5 Hardy Cubasch (St Edmund’s – AU)
6 Joel Jennings (Clare – GB)
7 Moritz Schramm (Fitzwilliam – GER)
Stroke Geoff Roth (St. Edmund’s – CAN)
Cox Elizabeth Box (Christ’s – GB/AU)

The Isis Goldie crews will be weighed early during Tideway Week.